ANNIE’S HISTORY
In 1948 George Katinas, the son of Greek immigrants, opened the Paramount Steak House. The restaurant was located at the corner of 17th and Church Streets in the Dupont Circle neighborhood of Washington, DC.
George, with the help of his five sisters, successfully ran the restaurant and always welcomed the community with open arms.
Annie and Sue, two of George’s sisters, both worked behind the bar. They were like night and day! Sue was pragmatic, meticulous and loving, Annie was vivacious, fun and known to entertain! Both women were huge draws for many patrons throughout the years.
George renamed the restaurant Annie’s Paramount Steakhouse in the early 1960’s in honor of Annie’s devotion to her customers. Her commitment to impeccable service and unwavering support of the LGBTQ community set a high standard for the entire restaurant to follow. During a time when the LGBTQ community was struggling to find places where they were accepted, the restaurant was always a welcoming and loving environment.
After Annie passed away in 2013, Mayor Vincent Gray named a section of a close-by street after Annie. Her legacy continues today.
In early 2019, Annie’s was nominated by food writer and longtime friend of the restaurant, David Hagadorn, to the James Beard Foundation’s America’s Classics Award. The restaurant was deeply honored to receive this award, which celebrates “timeless appeal… and quality food that reflects the character of its community.”
Family-owned to this day, Annie’s has always put its customers first and is committed to fostering a welcoming environment for all. We celebrated 75 years in 2023 with our family, friends, neighbors, beloved staff and customers.
Annie’s current owner, Paul Katinas (George’s son and Annie’s nephew), thanks you for visiting.